• Press
  • New Board of the Junge Akademie begins its term of office

New Board of the Junge Akademie begins its term of office

Press Release

Das Präsidium steht Seite an Seite in einer Flügeltür in der Hörsaalruine der Charité. Die Mitglieder des Präsidium lächeln in die Kamera.
v.l.n.r.: Philipp Rothemund, Kerstin Pahl, Julia Gurol-Haller, Philipp Pilhofer, Viola Priesemann. Foto: Jenna Dallwitz

Die Junge Akademie's new five-member Board took office on 22 June

Following the Junge Akademie's summer plenary session on 22 June 2024, the new Board took office. The term of office is one year. Julia Gurol-Haller acts as Chair of the Board.

Members of the new Board:

  • Julia Gurol-Haller, Chair, political scientist (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg)
  • Kerstin Maria Pahl, historian (Max Planck Institute for Human Development)
  • Philipp Pilhofer, historian (University of Rostock)
  • Viola Priesemann, physicist (University of Göttingen and Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organisation)
  • Philipp Rothemund, engineer (Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems and University of Stuttgart)

"The past year has shown us that academic freedom cannot be taken for granted. In view of the current global political situation, we must ask ourselves anew what role science can and should play in social discourse. This topic will certainly also characterise our Board's work in the coming year. But we don't want to miss out on the good things either: we are also keen to push ahead with the Junge Akademie's interdisciplinary research projects and strengthen the role of art in the academy," says Julia Gurol-Haller.

This is Julia Gurol-Haller and Kerstin Pahl's second term on the Board. The Board's tasks include steering the strategic and thematic orientation of the Junge Akademie, which is discussed in plenary sessions and realised in various formats and projects by the members. The Board also supports and advises the Junge Akademie's chair, who heads the Board and represents the Junge Akademie externally.

Detailed information on the members of the new Presidium can be found at diejungeakademie.de/en/praesidium.

participating Members

more press realeses