WüstenWissen

The project WüstenWissen (‚desert knowledge‘) is an interdisciplinary study of the transformations of the Sahara desert.

Ancient Petroglyphs of Giraffe, Ostrich, and longhorned cow being driven by a human, carved into rocks in what is now desert Gilf Kebir, Egypt.
Ilan Molcho, CC BY 2.0 , via Wikimedia Commons

Deserts, the sparsely vegetated regions of our earth, are often perceived as lifeless in their barrenness. But it overlooks the dynamics these regions are subject to, climatologically, biologically, culturally and in many other respects.

The largest arid desert on earth today, the Sahara, has experienced extreme climatic changes several times, impacting the biosphere, hydrosphere, pedosphere and anthroposphere. Particularly noteworthy is the so-called "Green Sahara Period" from about 14,600 to 5,000 years ago, during which the Sahara was covered and populated by fertile savannah landscapes, impressively documented in rock paintings from this time. These ecosystem changes also directly influenced regional cultures' dynamics and enabled the establishment of trans-Saharan trade routes. Significant changes are also expected due to climate change - likely, that the Sahara will temporarily become greener again.

In Western-dominated science, the Sahara is still very insufficiently researched in many areas. Initiatives such as the exhibition "Caravans of Gold, Fragments in Time: Art, Culture and Exchange across Medieval Saharan Africa" (Block Museum, Northwestern University, 2019) are the first essential steps towards doing more justice to the desert as a space of knowledge and exchange, also from a historical perspective and including African voices.

The members of the project group "DesertKnowledge" approach the research object Sahara in an interdisciplinary way. In close dialogue and interaction with local researchers and actors, they will reflect and revise the Western-centred view of their research.

First, they specifically address how rock paintings in the Sahara document the spread of different animal species and, thus, climate changes in this region and how this unusual data basis could be made scientifically useful. This question requires interdisciplinary cooperation, and the group brings together scientists from art history, geography, environmental sciences and biology, among others.

Spokespersons

participating Members

Activities

    • Workshop „Felskunst“

      Die Mitglieder des Projekts WüstenWissen veranstalten einen Workshop zum Thema Felskunst.

      Topics:

      Starts on
      05.05.23
      Ends on
      05.05.23

      Event access: Internal

      Frankfurt am Main

WüstenWissen

Eine interdisziplinäre Auseinandersetzung mit dem Wandel der Sahara.

Ancient Petroglyphs of Giraffe, Ostrich, and longhorned cow being driven by a human, carved into rocks in what is now desert Gilf Kebir, Egypt.
Ilan Molcho, CC BY 2.0 , via Wikimedia Commons

Wüsten, die vegetationsarmen Gebiete unserer Erde, werden in ihrer Kargheit oft als leblos wahrgenommen. Dabei wird übersehen, welcher Dynamik diese Regionen unterliegen, in klimatologischer, biologischer, kultureller und in vielfältiger anderer Hinsicht.

Die heute größte Trockenwüste der Erde, die Sahara, hat mehrfach extreme klimatische Veränderungen erfahren, die Auswirkungen auf Biosphäre, Hydrosphäre, Pedosphäre und Anthroposphäre nach sich zogen. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die sogenannte „Grüne Sahara-Zeit“ von vor ca. 14.600 bis 5.000 Jahren, während der die Sahara von fruchtbaren Savannenlandschaften bedeckt und bevölkert war, eindrücklich dokumentiert in Felsbildern aus dieser Zeit. Diese ökosystemaren Veränderungen hatten auch direkten Einfluss auf die Dynamik regionaler Kulturen und ermöglichten die Etablierung von trans-Sahara Handelswegen. Auch in Zukunft sind große Veränderungen durch den Klimawandel zu erwarten – voraussichtlich wird die Sahara zeitweise wieder grüner.

In der westlich dominierten Wissenschaft ist die Sahara in weiten Bereichen noch sehr ungenügend erforscht. Initiativen wie beispielsweise die Ausstellung „Caravans of Gold, Fragments in Time: Art, Culture and Exchange across Medieval Saharan Africa“ (Block Museum, Northwestern University, 2019) sind erste essenzielle Schritte, um der Wüste als Raum des Wissens und des Austauschs auch aus historischer Perspektive und unter Einbeziehung afrikanischer Stimmen gerechter zu werden.

Die Mitglieder der Projektgruppe „WüstenWissen“ nähern sich dem Forschungsgegenstand Sahara interdisziplinär an. Dies geschieht im engen Dialog und in Interaktion mit lokalen Forschenden und Akteuren, um den westlich zentrierten Blick ihrer Forschung zu reflektieren und zu revidieren.

In einem ersten Schritt widmen sie sich spezifisch der Frage, wie Felsbilder in der Sahara die Ausbreitung verschiedener Tierarten und somit die Klimaveränderungen in dieser Region dokumentieren und wie diese ungewöhnliche Datengrundlage wissenschaftlich nutzbar gemacht werden könnte. Diese Frage bedarf einer interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit und die Gruppe vereint daher Wissenschaftler*innen u.a. aus der Kunstgeschichte, Geographie, Umweltwissenschaften und der Biologie.

Sprecher*innen

beteiligte Mitglieder

Aktivitäten

    • Workshop „Felskunst“

      Die Mitglieder des Projekts WüstenWissen veranstalten einen Workshop zum Thema Felskunst.

      Themen:

      eventBeginsOn
      05.05.23
      eventEndsOn
      05.05.23

      Veranstaltungszugang: Intern

      Frankfurt am Main