

Press Release

Berlin, 10.06.2025

Contact

Anne Rohloff

Academic Co-ordinator Public Relations

press@diejungeakademie.de

Jägerstraße 22/23 10117 Berlin

T +49 30 241899 - 106 **F** +49 30 241899 - 101

New Board of *Die Junge Akademie* begins work Handover of office as part of the annual festival

The new Board of *Die Junge Akademie* has been in office since 8 June 2025. The term of office is a year. Philipp Rothemund succeeds Julia Gurol-Haller as the new Chair of *Die Junge Akademie*. Gurol-Haller is leaving the Board after a year's term as Chair. The handover took place as part of the annual celebration of *Die Junge Akademie* on 7 June 2025, during which the 25th anniversary was also honoured.



From left to right: Hanna Pfeifer, Philipp Rothemund, Helen Ahner, Hani Harb (not in the picture: Benedikt Hartl)

Image: Die Junge Akademie/Bernd Brundert

Download Press Photo

"I am particularity delighted to be Chair of *Die Junge Akademie* in the anniversary year. This institute has enriched the German research landscape for 25 years now. Some focus points have even accompanied us since the founding. The current Board will also address questions regarding science policy, the topic of research freedom, and the question as to how science can influence society," said Philipp Rothemund.

Members of the Board for the 2025/2026 term of office in alphabetical order:

- Helen Ahner, Cultural Scientist (University of Vienna)
- **Hani Harb**, Specialist in Infectious Immunology (Universitätsklinikum Carl Gustav Carus Dresden, Institut für Medizinische Mikrobiologie und Virologie)

1 / 2

- Die Junge Akademie at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Die Junge Akademie was founded in 2000 as the world's first academy for outstanding young academics. Its members - who come from all academic disciplines as well as creative fields - explore the potential and limits of interdisciplinary work in new projects, aim to encourage dialogue between academia and society, and provide new impetus in discussions about scientific policy. Die Junge Akademie is supported by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Its office is located in Berlin.

- Hanna Pfeifer, Political Scientist (Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy at the

University of Hamburg, IFSH)

- Philipp Rothemund, Engineer (University of Stuttgart and Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Robotic Materials, Stuttgart)

The Board's tasks include managing the strategic and topical direction of Die Junge Akademie, which is discussed in the Plenum and implemented by the members in various formats and projects. In addition, the Board supports and advises the Chair of the Die Junge Akademie.

More detailed information about the members of the Board here: diejungeakademie.de/en/board

- Benedikt Hartl, Architect (Opposite Office)