

Press Release

Berlin, 26.06.2023

Contact

Anne Rohloff

Wissenschaftliche Koordinatorin · Academic Co-ordinator

presse@diejungeakademie.de

Jägerstraße 22/23 10117 Berlin

T +49 30 20370 - 563

F +49 30 20370 - 680

New members with new perspectives in *Die Junge Akademie*

Ten members welcomed, ten members depart

On 24 June, as part of its Annual Celebration, *Die Junge Akademie* welcomed nine young academics and an architect to its ranks. During their five-year period as members, the new members have the opportunity, for example, to implement interdisciplinary research projects, participate in Research Groups, or help shape the discourse on science and academic policy. *Die Junge Akademie* offers its fifty members a constantly growing network of excellent academics and artists. They have the chance to work together on formats at the intersections between science, art, and society, and to contribute their views on shaping the scientific and academic system, in addition to pursuing their research.



F.l.t.r.: Benedikt Hartl, Hani Harb, Maximilian Beyer, Kathrin Wittler, Philipp Rothemund, Charlotte Bartels, Nadine Mengis, Sanja Bauer Mikulovic, Radin Dardashti (not in the picture: Philipp Pilhofer) Photo: Die Junge Akademie/Bernd Brundert

Download press photo

1/2

The ten new members are:

- Charlotte Bartels, Economics, German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin)
- Sanja Bauer Mikulovic, Neuroscience, Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Magdeburg
- Maximilian Beyer, Physics / Physical Chemistry, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
- Radin Dardashti, Philosophy, University of Wuppertal
- Hani Harb, Infection Immunology, Technische Universität Dresden
- Benedikt Hartl, (activistic) Architecture, Opposite Office, Munich
- Nadine Mengis, Earth System Modelling, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
- Philipp Pilhofer, Protestant Theology, University of Rostock
- Philipp Rothemund, Soft Robotics, University of Stuttgart and Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems
- Kathrin Wittler, Comparative Literature, Freie Universität Berlin

"We look forward to collaborating with our ten new members! Their ideas and perspectives will help to ensure that *Die Junge Akademie* remains a dynamic, continuously evolving organisation," says Lukas Haffert, post-doctoral researcher at the chair for Swiss politics and comparative political economy at the University of Zurich and one of two chairpersons of this year's election committee.

Each year, ten new members are welcomed to *Die Junge Akademie* and ten members leave as alumni when their five-year membership period ends. As part of a regular rotation, *Die Junge Akademie* this year selected its members on the basis of candidates who nominated themselves. In the coming year the elected members will again be chosen based on nominations made by the supporting academies of *Die Junge Akademie*, which are the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. *Die Junge Akadamie* aims to give young academics the chance to creatively co-shape the dialogue at the intersections between science, art, and society, in addition to pursuing their own research.

Further information about the application procedure and membership is available here: diejungeakademie.de/en/mitglied-werden

More detailed information about all members of the *Die Junge Akademie* is available here: diejungeakademie.de/en/members

Die Junge Akademie at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Die Junge Akademie was founded in 2000 as the world's first academy for outstanding young academics. Its members – who come from all academic disciplines as well as creative fields – explore the potential and limits of interdisciplinary work in new projects, aim to encourage dialogue between academia and society, and provide new impetus in discussions about scientific policy. Die Junge Akademie is supported by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Its office is located in Berlin.

2 / 2