

Press Release

Berlin, 20 May 2022

Contact

Anne Rohloff

Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit · Public Relations

presse@diejungeakademie.de

Jägerstraße 22/23 10117 Berlin

T +49 30 20370 - 563

F +49 30 20370 - 680

Advice and networking: Council of *Die Junge Akademie* has been appointed

New Council of Die Junge Akademie starts three-year period of office

Die Junge Akademie has appointed a Council for a term of three years. The Council has an advisory capacity for the members and the Board and serves to connect Die Junge Akademie with science, the arts and society. The Council members are appointed for a period of three years and represent a variety of fields from the sciences and arts, as well as other parts of society, science management and research policy. They regularly include Alumni of Die Junge Akademie.

"The Council is a group of outstanding, independent intellectuals that we expect to provide us with criticism and inspiration. This will help to continuously improve our work at the intersection of science, society, policy-making and the arts," stresses Prof. Dr. Astrid Eichhorn, Speaker of the Board for *Die Junge Akademie*. "We are excited to start our interactions with the new Council members and their diverse viewpoints, and would like to thank the parting members for their commitment and inspiring collaboration," Eichhorn says.

The current council members are:

- **Prof. Dr. Joybrato Mukherjee**, President of Justus Liebig University Giessen and President of the German Academic Exchange Service
- Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy, Chair for Modern Art History, Institut für Kunstwissenschaft und Historische Urbanistik (Institute of History of Science and Historical Urban Studies), Technische Universität Berlin and Alumna of *Die Junge Akademie* (second term)
- Dr. Anna-Lena Scholz, Journalist and Editor Wissen department at DIE ZEIT weekly newspaper
- Prof. em. Dr. Peter Strohschneider, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (second term)
- Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Andreas Voβkuhle, Director of the Institute for Staatswissenschaft & Philosophy of Law, Department of Law, University of Freiburg and former President of the German Federal Constitutional Court

The following members ended their Council membership after the end of their second term: Prof. Dr. Christoph Möllers, LL.M. and Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger. Prof. Dr. Hildegard

2/2

Die Junge Akademie

at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Westphal will not be available for a second term for personal reasons. The Council membership of

Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger is suspended in the current calendar year.

Detailed information on the Council of Die Junge Akademie can be found at

diejungeakademie.de/en/about-us/council/

Die Junge Akademie was founded in 2000 as the world's first academy for outstanding young academics. Its members – who come from all academic disciplines as well as creative fields – explore the potential and limits of interdisciplinary work in new projects, aim to encourage dialogue between academia and society, and provide new impetus in discussions about scientific policy. Die Junge Akademie is supported by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Its office is located in Berlin.