PRESS RELEASE



Berlin, 1 of July 2018

Bidding Goodbye and Welcome to Outstanding Scholars *Die Junge Akademie* welcomes new cohort during annual celebration New Board embarks on one-year term

On July 1st, ten outstanding scholars will begin their five-year membership in *Die Junge Akademie*. The organization's annual celebration on June 30th marked the new members' official admission to the academy as well as the farewell of ten existing members, who have now joined the ranks of alumni. The ten newly elected members include physicists and legal scholars as well as representatives from the fields of medicine, literature, and political science. The theme of this year's celebration was "flashes of inspiration". In a series of short audio recordings, the departing members reflected on their time in *Die Junge Akademie*, while the new members made use of a variety of formats to introduce themselves and their scientific backgrounds. The time limit of two minutes facilitated associative, creative, and brief contributions, and was very much in the spirit of "flashes of inspiration". The reflections on the past and the previews of *Die Junge Akademie*'s future projects and ideas were interspersed with musical interludes performed by Masha Qrella and her partner.



Upper row, left to right: Lukas Haffert, Astrid Eichhorn, Michael Saliba, Erik Schilling, Martin-Immanuel Bittner. Bottom row, left to right: Timo Rademacher, Valerie Domcke, Jan Haaker, Fruzsina Molnár-Gábor, Isabelle Staude. Photo: Die Junge Akademie/Peter Himsel

Die Junge Akademie at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina · Public Relations Jägerstr. 22/23 · D-10117 Berlin · Tel: +49 (030) 203 70-563 · Fax: -680 · presse@diejungeakademie.de www.diejungeakademie.de · www.facebook.com/diejungeakademie · @Junge_Akademie



Over the course of the next five years, the new members will have the opportunity to collaborate with the other current members in research groups on topics such as "Visualization", "Science Policy" and "Art as Research", and to carry out interdisciplinary work on a great variety of projects. The goal of *Die Junge Akademie* is to provide emerging scholars with a chance to go beyond their own research and to work creatively at the intersection of science and society. The prerequisite for membership is an outstanding doctoral dissertation (completed no less than three and no more than seven years prior to election to the academy) as well as one additional publication of excellent quality. Membership in *Die Junge Akademie* is also open to distinguished artists. This year's election of new members was conducted by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. The election in 2019 will be carried out by *Die Junge Akademie*.

The ten new members

- Martin-Immanuel Bittner | Medicine | University of Oxford, Trinity College
- Valerie Domcke | Physics | Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron, DESY Theory Group
- Astrid Eichhorn | Physics | Heidelberg University, Institute for Theoretical Physics
- Jan Haaker | Pharmacy/Neurosciences | University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, Institute of Systems Neuroscience
- Lukas Haffert | Political Science | University of Zurich, Department of Political Science
- Fruzsina Molnár-Gábor | Law | Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, BioQuant Center
- Timo Rademacher | Law | University of Freiburg, Department for Public Law, European Information and Infrastructure Law
- Michael Saliba | Physics/Optoelectronics | Adolphe Merkle Institute
- Erik Schilling | Literature | Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich, Institute of German Philology
- Isabelle Staude | Physics | Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Institute of Applied Physics

New Board takes up its work

On July 1st, the new Board of *Die Junge Akademie* will begin its one-year term. Among other things, the Board is responsible for *Die Junge Akademie*'s internal strategic alignment as well as the drafting of the annual budget. Furthermore, it supports and advises the speaker regarding the representation of *Die Junge Akademie*. The newly elected Board members are: the psychologist and neuroscientist Philipp Kanske (TU Dresden), the historian of antiquity Christoph Lundgreen (TU Dresden), the philosopher Kristina Musholt (Leipzig University), the mathematician Jonas Peters (University of Copenhagen), and the atmospheric physicist Bernadett Weinzierl (University of Vienna). From among these five members, Christoph Lundgreen was elected as the new speaker of *Die Junge Akademie*. With regard to the internal dynamics of *Die Junge Akademie*, Lundgreen noted that, "The principle of the annual election of ten new members and the simultaneous departure of ten existing members follows, to a certain extent, the maxim from Tomasi di Lampedusa's 'II Gattopardo': *Se vogliamo che tutto rimanga*

Die Junge Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina · Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Jägerstr. 22/23 · D-10117 Berlin · Tel: +49 (030) 203 70-563 · Fax: -680 · presse@diejungeakademie.de www.diejungeakademie.de · www.facebook.com/diejungeakademie · @Junge_Akademie



come è, bisogna che tutto cambi. If we want everything to stay the same, then everything must change."



Left to right: Philipp Kanske, Kristina Musholt, Bernadett Weinzierl, Christoph Lundgreen (Speaker of *Die Junge Akademie*). Jonas Peters is not on the picture. Photo: Die Junge Akademie/Peter Himsel

Die Junge Akademie was founded in 2000 as first academy for the new academic generation worldwide. The members of *Die Junge Akademie*, young academics and artists from German-speaking countries, are dedicated to interdisciplinary discourse and are active at the interfaces between academia and society. *Die Junge Akademie* is supported by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. The office is located in Berlin.

Contact Die Junge Akadmie

Anne Rohloff Tel.: +49 (0) 30 203 70-563 E-Mail: presse@diejungeakademie.de

Die Junge Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina · Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit Jägerstr. 22/23 · D-10117 Berlin · Tel: +49 (030) 203 70-563 · Fax: -680 · presse@diejungeakademie.de

www.diejungeakademie.de · www.facebook.com/diejungeakademie · @Junge_Akademie