From deep archives to outer space – ten new members join the Junge Akademie

On 11 June 2016 the Junge Akademie welcomed ten new members, excellent and highly motivated scholars who come from a great variety of disciplines. Among them, to name just a few, are legal scholars, mathematicians, historians, and astrophysicists. The interdisciplinary work of the Junge Akademie is entering a new round!

Ten outstanding young scholars have been elected to the Junge Akademie for the next five years. During this time, they will conduct interdisciplinary research in collaboration with the other 40 members, participate in research groups to discuss topics such as “Big Data”, “Art as Research?” and “Science Policy”, and will be involved in activities at the intersection of research and society.

The new members of the Junge Akademie:

Jessica Burgner-Kahrs, Engineering, Computer Science, Continuum Robotics (born 1981)
Leibniz University of Hanover, MZH –Hannover Center of Mechatronics

Anuscheh Farahat, Law (born 1981)
Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law

Alkomiet Hasan, Psychiatrie, Psychotherapie (born 1982)
Klinikum der Universität München, Klinik und Poliklinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie

Jan Hennings, History of the Early Modern Period (born 1979)
Central European University, Department of History, Budapest

Bettina Keller, Theoretical Chemistry (born 1980)
Free University of Berlin, Institute of Chemistry and Biochemistry – Physical and Theoretical Chemistry

Simon Lentner, Mathematics (Algebra and Number Theory) (born 1985)
University of Hamburg, Department of Mathematics

Christoph Lundgreen, Ancient History (born 1980)
Technical University Dresden, Institute for Ancient History

Jonas Peters, Mathematics, Causality Research (born 1984)
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Fabian Schmidt, Astronomy, Astrophysics (born 1979)
Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics

Xiaoxiang Zhu, Space Engineering, Remote Sensing in Earth Observation (born 1984)
German Aerospace Center, The Remote Sensing Technology Institute / SAR-Signal Processing Oberpfaffenhofen

The members of the Junge Akademie are elected for a period of five years. Prerequisite for membership is an outstanding doctoral dissertation completed within the last three to seven years, as well as one additional publication of extremely high quality. The selection of candidates is normally limited to the German-speaking world. Outstanding artists are also welcome to apply for membership.

The Junge Akademie consists of 50 members, with ten members finishing their terms each year and another ten members being newly elected. The election is alternatingly conducted by the Berlin-Brandenburgische Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences - Leopoldina on the one hand, and by the Junge Akademie on the other. The member election for 2016/17 occurred in the spring and was conducted by the BBAW and Leopoldina. The next election will take place in spring 2017 and will be organised by the Junge Akademie.


New Steering Committee of the Junge Akademie

The newly elected Steering Committee is made up of musicologist and sound artist Miriam Akkermann (University of Bayreuth), legal scholar Florian Meinel (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), physicist and electrical engineer Wolfram Pernice (University of Münster), immunologist Angelika Riemer (German Cancer Research Center Heidelberg), and psychologist Jule Specht (Free University of Berlin).  

The new Speaker of the Junge Akademie is Florian Meinel.

Die Junge Akademie
Anja Spiller
Tel.: (030) 203 70-453                                                


The Junge Akademie was founded in 2000 as the first academy in the world specifically dedicated to promoting the next generation of outstanding scholars. Its members stem from all academic disciplines as well as from the arts. Through their projects, members explore the potential and boundaries of interdisciplinary work, seek to create a dialogue between scholarship and society, and bring fresh ideas to the discourse of science policy.

The Junge Akademie is co-owned by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften – BBAW) and the German NationalAcademy of Sciences Leopoldina (Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina), with its head office located in Berlin.

Recommend site