Outstanding and dedicated - ten new members for the Junge Akademie

At the annual celebration on 6 June 2015, the Junge Akademie welcomed ten new members into its midst, among them one artist and nine junior scientists from various disciplines, ranging from biophysics to the history of science.

Miriam Akkermann, Musicology/Sound Art, born in 1978, Universität der Künste Berlin,

Caspar Battegay, German studies/Jewish Studies, born in 1978, Université de Lausanne,

Thomas Böttcher, Chemistry, born in 1982, Universität Konstanz,

Ulrike Endesfelder, Physics/Biophysics, born in 1983, Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology,

Christian Hof, Ecology, born in 1979, Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre (BiK-F),

Philipp Kanske, Neuroscience, born in 1980, Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences,

Fabian Krämer, History of Science, born in 1977, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München,

Dirk Pflüger, Computer Science, born in 1978, Universität Stuttgart,

Christian Stein, Computer Science/Linguistics/Literary Science, born in 1981, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin,

Ricarda Winkelmann, Physics/Climate System Analysis, born in 1985, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research.


Members of the Junge Akademie are elected for the duration of five years. To be eligible for membership, candidates should have completed their PhD within three to seven years prior to their application. Moreover, they should have published one further outstanding piece of work. The election is usually restricted to German-speaking countries. Outstanding artists may also apply for membership.

Overall, the Junge Akademie counts 50 members. Each year, ten of its members retire from active membership and assume the status of alumni, while ten new members are admitted into the Academy. The annual elections are divided equally between the head institutions: one year, it is carried out jointly by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the following year by the Junge Akademie itself. For the year 2014/15, it was the Junge Akademie’s turn to organise the election. The next election by the two parental academies will take place in spring 2016.        

Further information:


New Board at the Junge Akademie

Members of the new Board are the musicologist and composer Gordon Kampe (Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen), the legal scientist Florian Meinel (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), the immunologist Angelika Riemer (German Cancer Research Center Heidelberg), the political, media and cultural scientist Evelyn Runge (Universität Hildesheim), as well as the legal scientist Emanuel V. Towfigh (Max Planck Institutefor Research on Collective Goods, Bonn).                


The Junge Akademie’s new Speaker of the Board is Gordon Kampe

Recommend site